Session 0

Hello everyone! I’m Gianna, but you can call me Gi, or PG ( which is tentatively a part of my pen name) and my pronouns are she/they. I’m a first-semester graduate student in the Writing program. I’m banking on being a published author at some point in my not-too-distant future. Certain relatives have asked me what my backup plan is if that doesn’t work out, but uh…I don’t really have one. I guess, if all else fails, I can run off and live in the woods or something, right?

Near the end of August, I finished writing the first draft of what will, fingers crossed, be my first novel. It’s a YA novel that’s partially romance, partially a coming-of-age, and discusses religion, mental health, LGBTQ+ topics, and family issues. It’s called Retrograde and I’m currently taking a break from it before I have to go back in and enter editing hell.

I have two dogs, Cody (a miniature dachshund) and Sadie (a mixed breed). I’ve had Cody since he was about 6 months old and I was 10, and he just turned 12 last month! He had to have surgery over the summer after a serious issue with his neck, but he pulled through and is back to his old favorite hobbies: sleeping, eating, licking, and barking. We adopted Sadie in April and she turned 1 in July. She’s big, clumsy, and hyper, but she’s a total sweetheart. Aside from the dogs, I also have a leopard gecko named Dog (pronounced dee-oh-jee), and over the years I’ve had a lot of pets, some common and some more unusual (like a chinchilla, and rats. Yeah, saying I’ve had pet rats tends to freak some people out, but I promise they make great pets!)

I really enjoy video games, especially story-driven ones. Related to that, I like visual novels, as well as webcomics and graphic novels. I am really interested in the way those mediums use art and words together to tell a story. I’m also a huge fan of Dungeons & Dragons (to which the title of this post is a reference). My friends and I play it every Sunday, pretty much all day. I also play a few other tabletop roleplay games, but none as frequently or intensely as D&D. My favorite part about them is the collaborative storytelling aspect, building a world and characters with my friends.

A few more things about me: my favorite animals are opossums and goats. I love nature and have recently started hiking, sometimes, very casually. Much like a golden retriever, I find that going for a walk can immediately boost my mood by at least 50%. I garden, although I’m not the best at it. I was born on February 29th, Leap Day. One of my favorite musical artists is Hozier, I have three tattoos, and my favorite food is soup (but I cannot choose just one kind of soup.)

I’m really looking forward to this semester, to this class, and to interacting with you all! Finally, I hope you have a good day! 🙂

Who is Julie Jules?

My name is Julie but ever since I was a kid everyone around me would always call me Jules. Which is why I included both names because government wise, I am Julie. But personal level wise, I’m Jules. I am twenty five years old. I graduated in 2020 with a bachelors degree in communication. For two years-ish. I’ve been on a self quest journey of who the heck I was and what the heck I wanted to do. I wouldn’t say I figured it out, but I would say I sort of have an idea and I am on that path for that idea. Anyways, enough with the boring stuff I’ll share some fun things!

I have two dogs and a cat (they all get along great)

I am Spanish (can be interesting I guess)

I wrote a book when I was 16 (wouldn’t recommend reading it though, personally)

I love taking film photos, it is a huge passion of mine

I love old films (dirty dancing is at the top of my list)

I love music I will listen to pretty much anything

Celebrity crush- Harry Styles but that’s a given

And last but not least I want to write more (better) books and also one day maybe be a professor myself!